The Union with England was so unpopular that not only did the provost vote against the measure in the Scottish parliament, but the articles were burned (20th of November 1706) at the Market Cross by a body of Cameronians, amidst the approving cheers of the inhabitants.
The market cross is of the 14th century, much restored, having an open arcade supporting a pinnacle, with flying buttresses.
It became a burgh of barony in 1484 and a royal burgh in 1596, and was the scene of the exhibition of the Covenanters' Declaration, attached to the market cross in 1680 by Richard Cameron and in 1685 by James Renwick.
In the market square stands a fine market cross of the 16th century, borne upon an octagonal battlemented basement.
The old market cross still exists, and close to it stands the stone that gives the town its name (Gaelic, clack, stone; Manann, the name of the district).
In the centre of the town is a picturesque half-timbered market cross (16x6), with an octagonal upper chamber raised on massive pillars of wood.