Queen Elizabeth's or Fair Mead hunting lodge, a picturesque half-timbered building, is preserved under the Epping Forest Preservation Act.
At a short distance from the town is a moated Elizabethan half-timbered house, and also an ancient barrow of great extent.
Other buildings of interest are the guildhall, a 15th-century structure of brick; Shodfriars Hall, a half-timbered house adjacent to slight remains of a Dominican priory; the free grammar school, founded in 1554, with a fine gateway of wrought iron of the 17th century brought from St Botolph's church; and the Hussey Tower of brick, part of a mansion of the 16th century.
In the centre of the town is a picturesque half-timbered market cross (16x6), with an octagonal upper chamber raised on massive pillars of wood.
There is a picturesque half-timbered guildhall (1589).
The guildhall is a picturesque half-timbered building.